Gemstones FAQ’s

Platinum FAQs
Gold FAQs
Gemstone FAQs
Diamond FAQs
Jewelry FAQs
FAQs About Us
FAQs Main

What’s the difference between carat and karat?

Carat is a unit of weight for measuring gemstones. One carat is equal to 1/5 of a gram. For example, a 5.00 carat sapphire would weigh exactly 1.00 gram. Each carat is divided into 100 parts, often called “points”. Karat indicates the purity of gold. Pure gold is 24 karat. 18 karat is 18/24 or 75% pure gold. Sometimes 18 karat is marked “750”. 14 karat is 14/24 or 58.3% pure gold and is sometimes marked “585.”

What makes a fine gemstone?

Like fine diamonds, the quality of fine gemstones is determined by carat weight, color, clarity and cut. The complexity involved with assessing a gemstone’s quality requires years of experience, but certain generalizations can be made. The finest gemstones have a desirable color. They are clear, bright and lively, due partly to the inherent qualities of the particular gem material and due partly to superior cutting.

Judging the value and quality of fine gemstones requires specialized knowledge, training and experience. As members of the American Gem Society, dedicated to the highest standards of ethics, knowledge and continuing education, we take pride in helping our customers choose the right one.

What are phenomenal gemstones?

The gemological meaning of the word “phenomenal” refers to gemstones that exhibit various phenomena or changes in appearance as light is reflected from and within the gem. Some examples include the six rayed star in a star sapphire, the cat’s-eye effect in a chrysoberyl cat’s-eye or tiger’s- eye, the change of color in alexandrite and adularescence in a moonstone.

Which gemstones are the most durable?

A gemstone is durable because it resists scratching and breakage–that is to say, it is hard and tough. The most durable gemstones include diamond, ruby, sapphire, alexandrite (very rare) and natural spinel. Even the most durable gems can be chipped, scratched or abraded if they are not worn carefully.

Can I get the Ridge RingTM with my choice of gemstones?

Yes, as long as you choose from any combination of diamonds, sapphires or rubies! We created the Ridge Ring(TM)–featuring three gemstones held in place without prongs–to be worn by active people who prefer a graceful yet compact design.

The gemstones that we set in the Ridge RingTM are the three hardest gems available. Each is tough enough to endure the setting process, which includes carefully hammering the metal against each gem.

For the same reason, we set the gemstones in 18 karat yellow gold, platinum or in a two-tone design of 18k gold with platinum, but not in 18 karat white gold or 14 yellow or white gold.

The Ridge RingTM can be set with a variety of gemstone shapes: round, oval, square, rectangular, or soft triangular cuts.

The Ridge RingTM is one of our most durable, popular designs.